Mid-American Mensa is proud to be participating again this year in the Mensa Education and Research Foundation Scholarship Essay Contest. Entry forms are now available at www.mensafoundation.org/scholarships. The application form is online, and applicants will submit their essays at the Mensa website.

As in past years, interested applicants will submit a 550 word essay describing their goals and aspirations. The essays selected by our local judges will go on to be judged at the Regional and National levels for the awarding of scholarships. Any person who will be enrolled in an accredited US institution for the 2022–2023 academic year is eligible to participate. It is not necessary to be a member of Mensa. There is a separate competition for Mensans and their dependents, with details available at the same website. The deadline to participate is January 15th, 2022.

Many of the scholarships are unrestricted, meaning that all entrants will compete for them. There are also a number of restricted awards whose recipients must meet certain criteria. The following is a brief synopsis of those:

4 Paws and a Tail ($1,000) – Restricted to graduate level studies or continuing education of an established Veterinarian.
Bob and Mary Ann Cox Scholarship ($500) – For a student who has been out of formal education for a period of six or more years.
Carol Martinez Scholarship ($2,500) – Restricted to the field of information technology.
David Mann Scholarship ($2,000) – Study of aeronautical engineering or an aerospace field.
Don and Virginia Prince Scholarship ($600) – Must be a military veteran or spouse of a veteran.
Dr. Peter M. Kendall Science Scholarship ($600) – Restricted to the Natural Sciences including but not limited to Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Geology, Environmental Science, Forestry, Pre-Med, Pre-Dentistry.
Greg Timmers Arts Education Scholarship ($600) – Fine Arts that can include applied arts such as architecture, photography, ceramics and textiles.
Harper Fowley – Isolated M Award ($600) – Study for an undergraduate liberal arts degree (B.A. or A.A.).
Helen Kupper Scholarship ($600) – For a student pursuing a degree in the Fine Arts.
Margie Mandelblatt Award ($1,000) – Study in journalism.
Margot Seitelman Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – Graduate student who plans a career in professional writing or teaching English grammar and/or writing.
Rita Levine Memorial Scholarship ($600) – For a female returning to school after any absence of seven or more years – may be re-enrolled at time of application.
Rosemary Greathouse Scholarship ($600) – For a student pursuing a degree in the Arts, including creative writing and journalism.
The Skinner HELL’s M’s Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Interpersonal communications, mediation, or related study.
STEM scholarship ($2,000) – For natural and applied science, technology, and math majors (includes medical and health sciences majors).
The Sylvia Scholarship ($1,000) – For a woman pursuing a degree in the Natural Sciences or Mathematics.
Walt and Mary McGrew Scholarship for Veterans ($1,000) – For a veteran.
STEM Scholarship for Women ($7,000) – (Four scholarships) – Restricted to the study of STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics for a female or transgender female.
CGM Health Careers Scholarship ($600) – Restricted to Medicine, Pharmacy, Veterinary Science, Nursing, Respiratory Therapy, Physical Therapy, or other Allied Health Fields.
First Timers’ Grant ($1,000) – Affirm and declare that applicant is the first person in family to have earned in excess of twelve college credits.
Celebrating Racial Diversity ($1,000) – For a person of color.
Mark J Glancey and John G Gray LGBT Scholarship ($1,000) – For a student who openly identifies as gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender.

The following are restricted scholarships which are new this year!

Ruth Ann Parvin Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) – (Six scholarships) – Education (pre-school through grade 12) including special education and gifted education.
Progress Pride Scholarship ($10,000) – Self-identify as both BIPOC and LGBTQ+, demonstrated record of positive service to the BIPOC and LGBTQ+ communities.